Netlify & AWS Lambda with other AWS services

Hi Netlify community,

I hope this is the right section :worried:

I am looking for making a tiny app for myself (handling invoices since I am a freelancer), I do not want to use existing services, I just want to try building my simple app.

I want to have SPA hosted via Netlify and on AWS I want to deploy API with Serverless Aurora (MySQL), for invoice storage I am going to use S3 and SQS for async handling of sending emails via SES.

It sound like total overkill, and indeed it is, but I want to try these technologies.

So my question is how can I connect all of that together? In Netlify Functions docs I found out that if I want to use other AWS services, I shall contact the sales team, but before that I want to do some research, so here I am asking you for advice.

Do you have experience with this kind of infrastructure, what drawbacks shall I expect etc…

Yes, I have to manage API Gateway, etc… I hope that Serverless (serverless.com) will help me with that. I was also looking at ZEIT and their tools (like now) but I haven’t found a good guide for Serverless Aurora.

Thank you for your answers

Sorry it was hard to guess the correct section! I moved this over to “Support” since this seems to be a tech support needed kind of situation :slight_smile:

I think the short answer is you probably don’t want to use our functions implementation. Since we deploy our functions to our AWS account, in the region we choose (usually somewhere in us-west or us-east), it may not be a good fit for contacting your service. Further, we reserve all the $AWS_* variables that this requires (this listing would be good ones to avoid trying to set yourself) , which makes it a bit of a challenge to set your own $AWS_SECRET_KEY and the other things you might need, plus we might be connecting to your database in Frankfurt from us-west which would be pretty suboptimal for visitor experiences.