Is there a way to deploy static sites to Netlify without Git from my android phone?

TL;DR - Can’t use Git. Need to deploy static websites to the web. Can only use an android phone. I use Netlify on computer but dragging and dropping sites on phone doesn’t work. What are my options?

I am a teacher who is teaching basic web development to kids and I have been using Netlify to help kids deploy their work to the web. It has been going well so far but after lockdown, kids are doing this remotely and a lot of my kids are poor and don’t have computers at home. So they are learning to do everything on their smartphones. I’ve been able to find alternatives for most stuff to help them still learn it on the phone, but for site deployment using Netlify, I’ve found that dragging and dropping folders doesn’t work on an android phone.

I wish you guys had an option to click on a “Choose Folder” button and then allow the folder to be uploaded from the phone.

Is there a way to do this on the phone? I would prefer to keep using Netlify, but if this doesn’t work, what are my alternatives?

1 Like

Hi, @ryarasi, the closest thing I could find to an answer is this:

However, if people don’t have a computer I wouldn’t expect them to have extra bluetooth mice laying around to pair with their phones.

We do have an open feature request for an upload button. I’ve have cross-linked this community topic to the feature request for tracking. If/when this becomes possible, we’ll post an update here to let you know.

There are no other workarounds that I’m aware of. I wish there was a workaround as teaching web development (or any computer programming) to kids is a most honorable endeavor. If there are other questions about this, please let us know.

1 Like