Sorry real newbie, overwriting a project

Sorry for my ignorance

I have the coffee starter site configured with SSL. I dont remember sending this site via gatsby to netlify, so I suspect that I just clicked on the links on Gatsby and got forwarded to create the project on netlify.

I also installed the “Ilovelamp” ecommerce starter directly on netlify but want to work locally. This is the GIT command gatsby new gatsby-starter-ecommerce https://github.com/parmsang/gatsby-starter-ecommerce

How do I get this to my local machine and then publish back to my original “Coffee” starter. The one I have a custom domain set up on. I want to make sure I publish the eCommerce starter in the right folder on netlify and also overwrite what I already have?

I just want to delete what is there, not the droplet, container? and replace with the eCommerce starter

Cheers

hi jonny,

anything that is deployed to netlify’s servers via 1-click-deployment or starters through some of our jamstack ecosystem partners (such as gatsby) can be downloaded on your local machine so you can edit it there.

You will have to clone the code down from your github repo. Here is some guidance on how to do that:

https://help.github.com/en/github/creating-cloning-and-archiving-repositories/cloning-a-repository

then you can make local edits and deploy the sites back to Netlify when you are finished tweaking things.

OK ask great questions get great answers:)

What command do I need to run from Gatsby to completely overwrite my site? Is there a destroy command before I do a Build and

Hi, @jonnyfartpants, if gatsby build doesn’t automatically delete the contents of the build output directory before starting a new build, then you can manually do so.

For example, if the output directory is ./public then the following build command should work (this example is using yarn):

rm -Rf ./public/* && yarn run build

If there are other questions, please let us know.

Thanks for that but I mean when I publish it to Netlify. I have a working local build, do I need to delete something in Netlify before I publish it, as I have a different blog starter running on Netlify?

Thanks

no, you do not. If you made changes locally, add, commit, push to your git repo, then that deploy will roll out and overwrite anything previous.