Python support needs to improve

Hi, first of all, I want to say that I am a fan of Netlify’s product, so this is a friendly rant. I’m writing to describe a failure, and to encourage the business to try to support my needs as a potential customer.

I am a jack-of-all-trades consultant and have used Netlify to deliver several small proof-of-concept websites to clients. I’d like to think that one of these will turn into a paying Netlify customer sometime soon, but who knows.

Until now I have used Netlify in a very basic way: generating HTML from data, checking it in, and pushing. My current client would like to be able to make changes to the input data, and I thought that by configuring a build script he could simply make commits directly in GitHub and see the results. Sadly, I have run aground with Netlify’s poor support for recent python versions.

The short story is, I am using python3.8. This does not seem to be supported; the docs say 3.5 and 3.7 only. I thought I’d take a stab at downgrading my needs to 3.7, so I tried to “make my own sausage” following How Our Build Bots Build Sites. When I run the xenial image in docker, I instead see versions 2.7, 3.4, 3.5, 3.6.

At this point, I’m about to give up. I have also previously passed on Netlify for lack of python lambda functions.

In summary, I want to like the product but it is falling short. To win my customers, you need to support ALL of the major python releases, and you need to provide step-by-step documentation for running docker images locally so that I can debug version and pip install dependency problems.

Again, I hope this feedback is constructive. I know that it’s always harder than it looks from the outside, and I admire the product you have built. Keep going!

Thank you,
-George

Hi @gwk, your feedback is absolutely constructive and welcome!