Newsletter with Buttondown and Netlify forms

Netlify site:# brave-wright-72a364
Hi Support,
I have been following a tutorial I found about Netifly and button-down, to send newsletters.
My Site forms are working perfectly and I can see the emails arriving in my forms tab, active forms section.
The failing part is when the functions I have added to have the emails sent to button-down API for the newsletter.
I am getting an error during the transmission, that it cannot find my Dotenv dependency, although it is in my package.json file,
I have added my API key here in the corresponding environmental section as needed, also in my repo, I have added the ‘netlify.toml’ with the required:
[build]
base = “.”
functions = “./functions”
The tutorial I followed was the following is below and it is the one that got me to know of Netlify:

Any tips, On what I am doing wrong?
Please note, I am not a professional developer and I am learning full-stack web development, in a Bootcamp, (halfway through! :))
Thanks in advance!

Hi Johnny and welcome to our community!

Not sure how you package up your functions exactly - could you let me know which of these 3 methods you’re using to deploy them?

Hi fool,
Thank you for your time,
I have gone through the link you sent and I I think I have not used any of these 3.
As mentioned, in my initial message, I was following that tutorial, in which it seems not to work for me, and since I haven’t touched lambda functions, I am not sure how to proceed.

I have created a functions folder and added the following 2 files to it:
index.js and submissions-created.js

The code for submissions-created.js:

require('dotenv').config()
import fetch from 'node-fetch'
const { EMAIL_TOKEN } = process.env
export async function handler(event) {
  const email = JSON.parse(event.body).payload.email
  console.log(`Recieved a submission: ${email}`)
  return fetch('https://api.buttondown.email/v1/subscribers', {
    method: 'POST',
    headers: {