My app builds and works fine locally but not on Netlify

site name: https://jm-forkify.netlify.app/
site API-id: 97ad3084-0993-47a2-aa5e-f03f4caecc5c

Hey,

So this is my first time deploying on netlify and I’ve just got a simple SPA with webpack. I’ve followed all the docs on here and set my build to ‘npm run build’ as well as added a _redirects.txt file to handle 404s as per the doc. Yet my build never succeeds and as far as I can tell I can’t see any feedback as to why.

If I add '/dist/index.html/ to the url it all works as intended. I’ve set the base directory to numerous variations ‘’, ‘./’, etc same as the publish directory which for me is ‘dist’, yet the site is still not working. Any advice or a point in the right direction is much appreciated, thanks!

hi there,

For redirects, the file is just _redirects not _redirects.txt (no file ending) so the latter won’t work.

I’m not sure at the moment where the issue is occurring that you are describing, but

This Support Guide contains a ton of useful debugging tips that can likely help you solve your problem :slight_smile:

If you are still having problems, please provide as much information as you can on what you have already tried, what your build settings are, your package.json, etc. Thanks!

Hey Perry, thanks for the heads up on the _redirects file extension issue.

I think the problem is where Netlify is looking for the index.html file, as I just created a new one at the root of the folder with a simple h1 ‘Hello World’ and it displays as it should. With webpacker it compiles everything and creates the files in the ‘dist’ folder, this is where my ‘index.html’ and ‘bundle.js’ files live but when I change the settings to look in that folder on my base directory it doesn’t effect it all.

My package.json:

{
  "name": "forkify",
  "version": "1.0.0",
  "description": "forkify project",
  "main": "index.js",
  "scripts": {
"dev": "webpack --mode development",