How to access environment variables in a react component?

Hey there, I’m new to Gatsby and I’m creating a site with a google maps component that requires the google api key. I’m not able to access this key from the component (process.env.GOOGLE_API_KEY = undefined) however, even though I created an environment variable through the Netlify UI .

Am I missing something?

Thanks

2 Likes

This article is almost certainly the answer to your question:

If not, could you tell us more about how you are trying to use that value? That javascript looks fine, assuming that:

1. you have that variable set during build
  2. that code RUNS during build (not, say, at browse time - where that is just a string, or anyway the environment variable isn’t set anymore) and interpolates its output into your static files.

Gatsby requirement

I also Answered this question on StackOverflow for the quick answer:

Environment variables need to start with GATSBY_ in the client-side javascript as shown in the docs.

Use GATSBY_GOOGLE_API_KEY and process.env.GATSBY_GOOGLE_API_KEY for them to be accessed during the build and bundled into your Gatsby client code.

4 Likes

Hi guys,

I have a similar situation but not really sure I understand best practice here. I have a config file that gets imported into the gatsby-node.js and gatsby-ssr.js files, to define some API credentials. One is a sensitive token and I cannot hardcode it, but when I add these to Netlify’s env vars settings and try to inject them with process.env, the variables are undefined error on build.

Contents of config file:

module.exports = {
  stores: [
    {
      subdomain: process.env.STORE_SUBDOMAIN,
      storefrontAccessToken: process.env.STORE_ACCESS_TOKEN,
      default: true,
    },
  ],
}

I see the suggestion to prefix them with GATSBY_, but doesn’t this expose them in the code?

What’s best practice for this flow?

Thanks!