How do I upload ads.txt from Google Adsense in my domains root directory?

Hi Everyone - I am new to Netlify and new to website building in general, excited to be here!

I’ve published my website recently (freesolitaire.co) and I am having a problem uploading the ads.txt from AdSense into my root domain.

I didn’t create this website in Jekyll or any other static site generator. This game was developed and I have added onto the code to make the game into the website. I am very very new to this and any help would be much appreciated

hi there, how are you deploying your site? are you using drag n drop, or are you deploying from a git repo?

Hi Perry!

I am just dragging and dropping the file directly to Netlify.

hey lucas,

you can drag n drop an entire folder - so you could try adding the ads.txt to a folder and then dragging n dropping the whole thing.

let us know if this works - if yes, it’ll definitely help other people. :muscle:

Absolutely, I’ll give it a go! Does it matter which folder the ads.text is put into?

i’m not super familiar with where that file goes - i am assuming it goes in the document root, so, whichever folder your index.html is also in.

you might check google’s documentation if its unclear.

Updated on my end. I put the code in the folder with my index.html. When I did it this way the site launched incorrectly. Do I need to add the code directly in the index.html you think?

What google documentation are you referring to? I will read through it.