Host a subdomain on ovh

Hi,

I have a domain name and an ovh subscription. However, I hosted my site on netlify.

I’m a beginner in development and I managed to link my netlify site to my ovh domain, but I would like to know the dns configuration to adopt so that one of my subdomains is hosted on my ovh hosting.

Thanks for your advice.

Hi, @adri, and welcome to our Netlify community site.

Does you domain name use Netlify DNS or some other DNS service? Also, would you be willing to share (or send in private message) the domain name being used?

In either case, though, OVH should give you a DNS record to create to link your subdomain to the site/VM there. This will usually be an A record (IP address) or a CNAME (a domain name at their service). Once you have that information, you’ll create the required record to point the subdomain to the A or CNAME resource provide.

If there are other questions about this, specific details about the domain name (or subdomain) you want to link and the instructions from OVH will be helpful. Those details will help us to give a more targeted answer.

Hello,
I also have similar problem. I have domain from ohv (for example xyz.com)

I have changed dns in domain settings to:

But now (after 48h) my domain is redirecting to “Webmail: dostęp do e-maili OVH na stronie ovhcloud.com | OVHcloud

I removed all redirection from domain settings.
Any ideas? :slight_smile:

hi @Maciekek - are you sure you don’t have a _redirects file on your project that is causing this?

Hi, @adri. I got that custom domain information. I’m going to use this example information below to explain:

My domain is example.com and my sub-domain is admin.example.com

Let’s also pretend the Netlify site is at the subdomain adri.netlify.com.

First, is the domain using Netlify DNS? In this case, the answer is “no”.

So, the instructions for this are the external DNS instructions below: