Getting started, for semi-beginners

Hi there, I’m trying to get familiar with Netlify Dev, and I’m having a hard time finding a walk-through at my level. I’m not a complete newbie, but I’m not already familiar with the concepts that Netlify Dev brings together.

Basically, I have created several StencilJS projects and deployed them through Netlify using the UI/website. Now, I’m interested in adding functions and deploying using the CLI, and I just need some instructions on how to get things set up and what to expect with deploying without a UI. Most of what I find out there in terms of instructions seem to be for already-seasoned experts that just need to know “the Netlify way” of doing things.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

2 Likes

Thank you for asking for this, @gopherrdiggs! Let’s see who has some answers for you from the community, and we’ll fill in the gaps.

Maybe this is a great opportunity to write a semi-beginner blog post once you have learned what you feel you need to know? Seems like lots of other people might benefit.

1 Like

Here are the three ways to deploy to Netlify:

• Drag n Drop a folder to Netlify admin UI
  • Using the Netlify CLI
  • Using continuous deployment through git workflow

Drop is pretty obvious and straight forward. See Here

Netlify CLI is a command interface that allows for you to deploy through the terminal. See Here

Continuous deployment and git allows you to create your project in a git repository and use Netlify’s build bots to build your site automatically on every commit. This is the recommended way to use Netlify for continuous changes. See Here

The beauty of this method is the ability to mimic your local development workflow for building and deploying using the CLI. Setting up a netlify.toml config file in the root of your repository gives added configuration options also. Instead of having to run a build and then run the netlify deploy command locally, Netlify’s build bot will do this for you.