Functions: node-cron fetch from external api and write results to file

Hi I’m new to Netlify and lambda functions.

I have a small app that connects to an external api. The api has rate limits, so I am attempting to periodically connect the the api and write the response to the file system and then serve up that response as a new endpoint.

Is this even possible?

My idea was to use node-cron to trigger a fetch and use fs.writeFileSync to save the response to the file system. Nothing I have tried is working. I’m still stuck at the fetch and write to file. I haven’t written the cron in yet.

something along these lines. Any thoughts?

const fetch = require('node-fetch')
const fs = require('fs')

const checkStatus = (res) => {
  if (res.status >= 200 && res.status < 300) {
    return res.json()
  } else {
    let err = new Error(res.statusText)
    err.response = res
    throw err
  }
}

exports.handler = async function (event, context, callback) {
  const apiUrl = 'https://some-api-requuest/'

try {
    const response = await fetch(apiUrl)
    let data = await checkStatus(response)
    data = JSON.stringify(data)

fs.writeFileSync('./response.json', data)

const bodyObj = {
      statusCode: 200,
      body: 'success'
    }

callback(null, bodyObj);
  } catch (err) {
    callback(err);
  }
}

Hey @gregcarv,
I think iz… not possible. Netlify Functions are supposed to be ephemeral- no permanent storage, no IP address you can reliably access again. When you call one, it spins up on a random server somewhere and runs the code it’s supposed to run and then goes away. The next time you call it, it may spin up on a different server, maybe in a different region. So while you probably could write data to a file, it wouldn’t be accessible to you in the future because you likely wouldn’t be on the same filesystem. That said, if the response is small enough, maybe you wouldn’t have to write it out- you could just store it as a variable in memory?