Environment Variables part of client source code

Hello,

I built a create-react-app, which essentially pulls back data from http://strava.com. Part of the authorization process of getting data from strava is initially passing a Client Secret ID query parameter.

I have a .env file where I store this key value i.e. REACT_APP_CLIENT_SECRET=1234567890 and my .env file resides in .gitignore so it is not exposed my Git Repo.

I then stored the key value in a Netlify environment variable under Build and Deploy settings.

I set up a Lambda function to handle the Axios call that passes the Client Secret ID to strava (intended to make the call on the server thus securing my client secret). This all works great.

What I didn’t expect however was that the Client Secret ID is still accessible in source source through the client.

I’m a novice in web development and learning as I go. What I don’t understand is whether this is something I need to resolve on the create-react-app side or the Netlify side.

Can someone provide any insight and help me figure out how to secure this?

Thanks in advance.

Are you passing the env variable through to the function? That shouldn’t be needed, I think you could set the env variable in netlify UI and then access it via the function at run time? I’m not too experienced here but I think you can access them from functions.

Hi,

I think the issue I have is that any environment variables I set in Netlify UI are bundled into the source code during the build and are available in the client source code.

This is the part I don’t understand. If I cannot set my Client Secret ID as an environment variable how do I securely access it post build to make the strava authentication call.

I am accessing the variable in the lambda function like you mention - yet i still have the issue above.

I have found an interesting discussion on Strava developer forum: https://groups.google.com/g/strava-api/c/y901i7B_ocY/m/0Y-a1ctSAgAJ