Elm make needs to be updated to Elm 0.19.1

I should start this by stating that my web dev knowledge primarily consists of 2 year out of date Gatsby knowledge, so I preface all this by saying I frankly have no idea what I’m doing. But, I’m a decent programmer.

The URL for my page is futurespace.netlify.app. As you can see, the build failed.

I decided I wanted to try learning Elm for my personal webpage; I did research over the summer on modeling languages (check out TLA+). I was and am determined to steer clear of writing this thing in javascript/ using npm. Given Netlify uses Elm, I decided to take a leap of faith and try Elm make even though Elm isn’t listed on the common netlify build configurations. I didn’t know to go look at the Deploy log when it didn’t build (RTFM, I realize) so I tried a bunch of other jank business to try to get the page to build but having gone back and made sure the page is building correctly outside netlify, I finally went and checked the build logs.

Lo and behold, it’s telling me I’m building using Elm v. 0.19.0, not 0.19.1! My elm.json requires 19.1, triggering a version mismatch.

If I’m just dumb and need to change some setting on my netlify project to tell it which version of elm to use, please let me know! Currently I don’t have a netlify config file for the project, I didn’t see any variables in the documentation I could set to tell netlify which version of Elm to use, but if there’s something I can do to point it at the right thing I will be happy.

Thank you!

Update: I tried installing Elm v0.19.0 on the machine I’ve been using for development and it has some kind of issues with binwrap-install arising from some deeper thing within the depths of node. There are some workarounds I found publicly to fix the node issues. I’ve been using Gitpod since I can’t just code on my machine and push to netlify to build, but it uses nvm and won’t let me use root so said workarounds are a bust.