Css not working for Netlify

Hi,

I’m having troubles with setting up a website built in R with Hugo, hosted on GitHub and Netlify.
It seems like Netlify isn’t reading the css file properly and my website doesn’t currently have a theme. In addition, it looks like the links are broken. Perhaps something related with the site map, although I’m not certain.

I’m a newbie in Netlify and I’ve already spent a lot of time trying to figure out why these two aren’t working. Could anyone help me with setting up properly the website?

Many thanks,
Simona

@simonagradinaru Welcome to the Netlify community.

Let’s start here:

If the CSS file is where it’s supposed to be and your pages have the correct links to that file, but the file is not being delivered properly, that is indeed a problem.

If, on the other hand, the CSS file is missing and/or the links to the CSS file are not correct, that’s something you’ll have to correct.

However, without more information it’s very difficult for others to help you.

It looks to me like the CSS file is in the right location and it is linked properly. Do you think it may be a problem with the theme instead?

My GitHub repository is located: here.
My page is hosted on Netlify: here.

@simonagradinaru The only problem I’m seeing is that your favicon is not present (or properly linked). Everything else looks fine. Are you perhaps seeing the results of browser, computer, ISP, or VPN caching?

@gregraven I figured out the css issue in the meantime. Apparently, I wasn’t building my site so running hugo serve was all I needed to do.
Could you give me a hand with the favicon you’ve mentioned?
Thanks!

@simonagradinaru I don’t know how you include it using Hugo, but once you have an image you want, this free online generator will create all the icons and link code for you.

Fantastic! Thanks a lot @gregraven for the reference, I’ll look into it.