[Common Issue] How to transfer a Netlify site to a new owner

You’ve built an awesome website, but for some reason it’s on the wrong team. Maybe you accidentally put a work site on your personal account or maybe you are handing a site off to its new owner. It happens to all of us! There are two ways to accomplish the transfer.

First and preferred, if you’re an owner of the site on any team, and an owner-level member of the team you’re transferring to, you can use the this flow. Self serve, immediate transfer, no downtime, please drive through & have a nice day!

For other situations, our support team will have to complete the transfer for you, and to do so we’ll need:

  • the name of the site you want to transfer
  • the email of another existing Netlify login that you want us to transfer it to
  • to know if you need to retain access to the site after transfer. Note that this usually results in a charge for the person you are transferring to, if their team has room for you as a collaborator (there are limits on most plans as to the number of collaborators, and pricing will vary by team level).
  • and finally, we’ll need to confirm that you are authorized to request the transfer via out of band email before we can proceed. You can only request transfer of sites that you already own :slight_smile:

Please post a request in the #admin section of this forum, and we’ll take it from there.