Sometimes your projects may really benefit from automatic deploys, sometimes they won’t. If you want to turn off automatic deploys from git, we have three easy options for you. You can choose the option that works best with your workflow.
We have a feature called Locked Deploys that you can use to 'pin' a deploy on your production URL.
To turn on the lock feature from your Deploys page, click the Stop auto publishing button .
That’s it! You will no longer publish any deploys.
However, deploys will still be built and will be available for you to preview and manually publish
whenever you want. You can still see all of your deploys as usual on your Deploys page in our UI.
When you are ready to resume automatic deploys, just click the Start auto publishing button.
If you no longer want to trigger deploys via git, you can remove the webhook created by Netlify from your repository's webhook settings at your git provider. And as long as you don't remove our deploy key, you can then trigger a deploy some other way - for instance, manually via the Deploys page in our UI or via our API.
No deploy previews are created when you deploy this way, FYI, so no worries there.
Use GitHub checks to stop automatic deploys under certain conditions using the protected branches feature. This last option is what we use internally at Netlify. We set it up this way so we have a successful build, all of our tests finish, and we have a deploy preview to look at before merging. So if a check fails, you’ll see a red x and your site will not merge & deploy:
If you’ve never used GitHub checks before, GitHub has easy, step-by-step instructions on how to set them up.
Note: If you want to keep your Netlify site but permanently remove the link from your site to your git repo, please write in to Netlify support . There isn’t a way to do this in the UI currently, but we are happy to do it for you.