Collection configuration for posts in year/month folder structure

Hello, I’m new to Netlify CMS. I need help configuring the collections to read and write posts in a blog folder structure that resembles {{year}}/{{month}}/{{slug}}.

I have a site built with Hugo that supports three languages. The language code appends to the URL as www.example.com/es/ but the default is English.

The blog entries in Hugo’s file structure exist in the content folder under a folder called news and are organized by additional sub-folders by year and month, e.g., content/news/2020/06/slug-for-article.md. All articles have identical file locations and slugs except the language code is appended before the .md file extension, e.g., slug-for-article.en.md, slug-for-article.es.md.

I was able to setup the CMS but am unsure how to configure collections so that:

1. The collections show existing articles in the {{year}}/{{month}} folders.
  2. New articles are created in the appropriate {{year}}/{{month}} folders.

Here’s a sample of the collections configuration for an English label:

collections:
  - label: "News (English)"
    name: "news_english"
    folder: "content/news"
    path: "{{year}}/{{month}}/{{slug}}"
    preview_path: "news/{{year}}/{{month}}/{{slug}}"
    create: true
    filter: {field: "language", value: "en"}
    fields:
      - {label: "Language", name: "language", widget: "select", options: ["en", "es", "ko"]}
      - {label: "Title", name: "title", widget: "string"}
      - {label: "Publish Date", name: "date", widget: "datetime"}
      - {label: "Body", name: "body", widget: "markdown"}`

@cptncrnch Welcome to the Netlify Community. I don’t know the answer to your question, but I changed the topic from netlify-newbie to netlify-cms, as that seemed to fit better.

Hi @cptncrnch and welcome, @gregraven thanks for clarification.

@cptncrnch, I think you would need an extra piece of configuration to save files with the relevant locale:

collections: