Authorization Header is undefined

I am using Netlify Functions to set up a GraphQL layer between my app and the Firebase API I’m currently working with. I am getting an ID Token from Google in my client and attempting to send it to the lambda so that it can be passed to Firebase’s authentication service. I’m fairly new to authorization in web apps, but worked through guides from both Firebase and Google to get things implemented, and settled on using the Authorization header to pass the ID Token to the Function as it sounded like the most secure option.

I’m running into a strange issue though, where the "authorization" key on the event.headers object is defined in some places but not in others.

I have included a copy of my lambda’s code below.

const firebase = require("firebase");

exports.handler = function(event, context, callback) {
  if (!firebase.apps.length) {
    firebase.initializeApp(/* Firebase options */);
  }

var credential = firebase.auth.GoogleAuthProvider.credential(event.headers.authorization);

firebase
    .auth()
    .signInWithCredential(credential)
    .then(() => {
      firebase
        .firestore()
        .collection("books")
        .where("userId", "==", firebase.auth().currentUser.uid)
        .get()
        .then(data => {
          callback(null, {
            body: JSON.stringify(data.docs.map(doc => doc.data())),
            headers: {
              "Access-Control-Allow-Headers": "*",
              "Access-Control-Allow-Origin": "*"
            },
            statusCode: 200
          });
        });
    });
};

When the handler attempts to access event.headers.authorization on line 5 of the handler, Firebase throws an error due to the idToken being undefined.

The odd thing here, from my perspective, is that if I modify the handler to simply echo the header back to me on the client, it is defined and works fine. An example of code where the header is defined is included below.