[Asked Frequently] How to cancel an account

If you aren’t currently using your team, we recommend letting the account remain in case you need it again someday. You can remove your sites and domains if you choose, and leave the team empty.

That said, if you do want to delete a team, here is a step by step guide.

Deleting a team

If you want to proceed with deleting a team, please note the following:

  • All team sites will be taken offline.
  • Any DNS zones you’ve set up will be deleted.
  • Domains purchased through Netlify will be locked. Transitioning them to an external owner or different Netlify team will require help from support. You can request help from support to transfer your domains to name.com.

—> To delete your team, go to your Team Settings, and scroll to the bottom to click the red Delete team button.

Deleting your user account

If you want to proceed with deleting your entire user account, please note the following:

  • All team sites will be taken offline.
  • You will get removed from all teams you belong to.
  • Teams you own will be deleted.
  • Our helpdesk will close any open cases you have without any further possibility for our team to respond.
  • Any DNS zones you’ve set up will be deleted.
  • Domains purchased through Netlify will be locked. Transitioning them to an external owner or different Netlify team will require help from support. You can request help from support to transfer your domains to name.com.
  • You will no longer have access to Netlify without help from support.

—> To delete your user account, click on your avatar at the top right and select User settings. Scroll to the bottom to click the red Delete user button.